Kombucha Couture

Hello guys!

It was Paris Fashion Week from sept. 29th to oct. 7th and I had the opportunity to attend a fashion show of Kombucha Couture. It’s not from Africa but I found it really interesting as a fashion innovation!

Sacha Laurin is a Californian based designer and has used her experience as a cheesemaker to offer a new kind of clothing. At this point, I guess you’re wondering how an experience in cheesemaking can be useful for fashion!?!  Well this is where the beauty of fashion happens!

Sacha Laurin has turned her love for fermentation into sustainable fashion! Clothes and jewels are all hand crafted by fermenting tea with yeast and bacteria ! As they say: ‘the colony spins cellulose around itself the way silkworms spin silk’. Interesting, isn’t it?

By the way, Kombucha is the name of the sweetened tea that has gone through fermentation. The unique texture of the Kombucha fabric is closely comparable to leather and it is extremely durable: it is called vegan leather. When you see it on the runway, you may think that it is not leather because sometimes it looks like metal or even plastic.

I couldn’t take many pictures of the show because my phone ran out of battery but I invite you to visit Kombucha Couture website to learn more about the brand!

And I also found this video on youtube…the song made me laugh!

I just stole this pic from the facebook page of Kombucha Couture because I really love this design: it is a lotus design by artist Susan Lowrie of Enchanted Heart Studio

Kombucha 1

Kisses from Paris!

One thought on “Kombucha Couture

  1. Hi! Just stopped by to congratulate you on your post! It was very cool and compelling (and stylish too!) keep it up!
    Come check out my blog if you get the time, would love to know what you think!
    Keep blogging!
    Love,
    Mimi
    Ps. Such a cute skirt!!

Leave a comment